An Autumn Sonata

An Autumn Sonata

Coming from the part of the tropics where the biggest change in the climate is from warm humid sunny days to wet rainy days; I have learned to appreciate the four seasons ever since I experienced it when I went abroad to further my studies years ago. My first fall and winter experiences are snatches of memories I will cherish forever … It was cold and drizzling rather heavily as I walked the Takachiho (Southern Japan) woods (around the gorge area) on an early Dec morning last year. Along the way, I noted among the woods this stark Japanese maple with its network of sprawling branches and vestige of autumnal ‘red’ leaves clinging to it before winter arrives. It just looked beautiful, the heavy drizzle wetting the tree and soft diffused light nicely highlighted the stark mouldy branch structures of the bare tree, enhancing its mood and interest, befitting an autumn sonata. I took a number of shots while juggling an umbrella to keep my gear dry, when I had time for a good look at the images later, I was pleasantly surprised by the added painterly quality to the images from the drizzle. Nature never cease to amaze me with its  inherent beauty and colour during the change of the seasons.

Photo: Fujifilm X-E2 with XF 55-200mm

11 thoughts on “An Autumn Sonata

  1. Well done, Ken!!! This image is truly captivating. And if you are interested I own and love an umbrella hat that sits on my head and leaves my hands free. It works. Let me know if you are interested and I will leave you the link to the one I bought! 🙂 ❤

  2. Well done on keeping dry with gear and umbrella in hand. Certainly wet gear is the worst… You know, I’ve always like the tropics and humidity. I thrive on it and don’t mind one bit 🙂

    • it was a tough act, mabel, i actually risked getting my non-weather resistant zoom wet throughout the walk, and it did get wet to an extent, but nothing serious. i do love the tropics more and more these days, but not the humidity though, because i sweat a lot, and youknow what sweat does to you! ken.

A Pleasure To Hear You, Post A Comment ...

