When A Picture Is Not Worth A Thousand Words …

Typical Scene In A Pachinko Parlour

In the photo, you find folk comfortably seated in rows and concentrating intently on their game, its a relaxed scene, leisurely even. But if you have ever stepped into a pachinko parlour in Japan, I think you will agree with me that the atmosphere is not a bit as relaxed as depicted in the photo. The games audio and the sound of steel balls bouncing and rolling about from the numerous rows and rows of machines operating in a typical pachinko parlour generates such an incredible and deafening amount of noise. Add to this a thick layer of cigarette smoke pervading the air from patrons’ cigarette smoking – suffocating.

For me, it’s a place I can only spend a few minutes in, no more, before things starts to become stressful and unbearable for me. I came out from one momentarily stupefied with my ears ringing long after. But I suppose many Japanese don’t mind it as pachinko parlours are hugely popular in Japan with its legion of fans who regularly make their way to their favourite parlour to be victorious in battling the machines and taking home some winnings.

Fuji X-E1 with XF 18-55mm

4 thoughts on “When A Picture Is Not Worth A Thousand Words …

  1. hi iosatel,
    no, you weren’t rude or offensive, i did not feel that at all; therefore, no apologies required.
    you are absolutely right, a picture is worth more than a thousand words, in most situations.
    btw, where are most of your photos taken? which country/city?

    best regards,
    kap

  2. About my reply on “Far away from everyone”

    Dear Ken and Agnes, I didn’t mean to be rude, but it seems my reply was a kind of offensive. It’s just my bad English. Once again, my apologies. What I wanted to say was that in a picture one can see more than if I describe it in thousands words.

    P.S. My friend helped me to write this in English 🙂

A Pleasure To Hear You, Post A Comment ...

